How do I ship hazardous materials?


The U.S. DOT considers any material that poses an unreasonable risk to health, safety or property as hazardous, and has classes in place to differentiate the types. Here are the different classes of hazardous materials:

  • DOT Hazard Class 1: Explosives
  • DOT Hazard Class 2: Gases
  • DOT Hazard Class 3: Flammable liquids
  • DOT Hazard Class 4: Flammable solids, spontaneously combustible materials, and materials that are dangerous when wet
  • DOT Hazard Class 5: Oxidizers and organic peroxides
  • DOT Hazard Class 6: Poisons and etiologic materials
  • DOT Hazard Class 7: Radioactive material
  • DOT Hazard Class 8: Corrosives
  • DOT Hazard Class 9: Miscellaneous dangerous substances and articles
  • ORM-D: Other regulated material

Before shipping these materials, the class must be identified and the shipper must find a carrier that meets all the DOT safety and transportation requirements.


  • Hi, this is a comment.
    To get started with moderating, editing, and deleting comments, please visit the Comments screen in the dashboard.
    Commenter avatars come from Gravatar.

Comments are closed.

This website uses cookies and asks your personal data to enhance your browsing experience. We are committed to protecting your privacy and ensuring your data is handled in compliance with the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR).